Roberts Memorial Staff Award

Established in 1983, an annual cash award is provided from the Stephen W. and Robert E. Roberts Memorial Endowment fund in recognition of dedicated, outstanding service to the university.  The NMSU Employee Council has the final responsibility for the selection of the recipient for this award.


Criteria and Guidelines for Selection of Roberts Award Winner

Eligibility Criteria: 1) Nominees may not be faculty members, nor can they be a member of either the Administrative Council or the Academic Dean’s Council.  2) Nominees must have five (5) or more consecutive years of service with the university.  Depending on the award cycle, the selection criteria alternates between non-exempt staff or exempt staff.  For 2016, the Roberts Award will honor a non-exempt employee.

In addition to the requirements above, employees can be nominated based on the following traits:

  • A highly motivated person who is a self-starter.
  • A person who exhibits dedication to the university.
  • A person who will remain at the university after receiving the award and serve to influence others through behavior that exemplifies sincerity, motivation, and dedication.
  • A person who not only performs a specific job, but who also serves the university and community as a responsible citizen.

2016 Guidelines: The Nomination form, with no more than five (5) pages of supporting information, should be received by the Center for Learning & Professional Development by email ( or at mail code MSC 3TD no later than August 12, 2016.

Download the Nomination Form:  PDF

About the Roberts Award:

George Roberts, former NMSU assistant vice president for business affairs, and his wife Bernice Roberts established the Roberts Memorial Award in 1983, in honor of their sons, Steven W. Roberts and Robert E. Roberts, who were NMSU students.